The initial Federal style structure on the property was built by Richard Taylor Buss and his wife Betty Ballard in the late 1700’S. They had Seven Children; Achsah, Richard, Abel, Nathan, Mary, and Eunice. Mr Taylor owned a great deal of the land in and around the center, down to where the tennis courts are today. Richard Taylor sold the house to Dr. John Putnam, a descendent of the first settlers of Wilton, Jacob Putnam. The house then came into the possession of the Davis Family in the 1870s. Somewhere in the 1870s the structure was moved back, turned around, altered and enlarged into its present Adirondack cottage style. The original house forms the core of the structure that occupies the property today.
The home remained in the Davis family for almost 80 years. A wood crate table top, located in the main first floor room of the carriage house, is believed to have remained here since their ownership, as it is addressed to them. It may possibly have been used to ship the large mirror located on the second floor, between the Library and the Oolong room, as the size is accurate but this is only a guess.
The property then passed to their daughter Mary, who lived in it with her husband, Joh Edward Devlin. Upon their death it passed to their daughter, Marjory Devlin Moors. Marjory occupied the home seasonally, along with her other properties in Boston and Arizona, with her husband, Francis J Moors. Francis was a prominent banker with the J.B Moors investment bank started by Francis’s father Joseph Benjamin Moors of Boston. The investment bank Moors and Cabot, which started in 1890, was the intended marriage merger of the two prominent Boston families to handle the investments of their wealthy clients and friends. That bank is still in business today, located in the same building it started at, 111 Devonshire St. Boston Ma. The portrait of Francis’s brother John still hangs in the lobby today along with his original Chair. Francis and his wife maintained the house as a summer residence and farm to escape from the city and their residence on Beacon Hill. Over the years the farm grew to encompass 150 acres.
Mrs. Moors maintained the summer estate for the next 26 years. In addition to running the estate, she became active in the Wilton community. In 1937 she paid to have the Livermore truss bridge rebuilt at the base of the property roadway across Blood Creek, the bridge is the only surviving truss bridge left in the state of NH. During her residence at the estate she maintained a full staff to run the property. In the 1950’s her old dog developed a hip problem and could no longer climb the stairs so she had the elevator installed for the dog to get to the second floor. The elevator is not currently working but is on the long list of repairs hoping to be done by the present owners. The Third floor of the home was occupied by the full wait staff, including maids, cook, butler etc. In keeping with old Boston tradition after her husband’s death Marjory dressed only in black for the rest of her life. Always one to keep an eye on the neighborhood, the screen house, which currently sits next to the pool, was stationed beside the road near the town center, so she could see the comings and goings. She also enjoyed her
restful times overlooking the river and what is now Route 101, while enjoying a cup at her tea house along the pony cart trail in the back of the property. Marjory died on October 4th in 1962 at her residence on Bay St in Boston. Mrs. Moors was generous with her money and at her death left sizable sums to her doctor and personal nurse as well as the caretaker of 50 years to the Wilton property and his son Fredrick her chauffer. Mrs. Moors also left a bequest to the Unitarian church next door and upon her death she left the property to her nephew, Donald Scott.
In 1968 the home changed hands again when Donald Scott sold the existing house, carriage house and 18 acres to Leonard Peterson and his wife Judy. Lenny was the owner of a thriving business in Wilton center called Label Art. Len was also a lover of vintage cars and especially a collector off all things Buick. Judy was an author and her book “Follow your Dreams and Discover Gods Plan for You” aided in the next transfer in ownership of this historic estate.
Pam and Peter Clemens are now the proud owners and caretakers, beginning in Jan 2016 and are excited about the preservations effort and birth of SereniTea, Bed and Breakfast with vintage Tea Room. After several years of searching, losing and learning, they moved on from 20 years living in, raising three daughters and restoring an historic Queen Anne home in N Billerica, MA and began a new chapter in Wilton, NH and the vision of SereniTea began to come to life.
Pamela has over 20 years of experience in high end Interior Design and over 15 years within the coordinating and executing successful, global meetings and events of all sizes, as well as large scale trade show exhibit displays and designs. Worldwide travel, upscale venues and impressive experiences have led to extremely discerning tastes and impeccable expectations to share with their guests of this unique property. Growing up in the kitchen with an Italian Nana provides a love for good comfort food and her learned cooking skills. Sipping tea with her English Canadian Nana, nurtured a love for tea and taking time out for calming things amidst a busy world.
Peter is a director of engineering, an accomplished lover of the gardens, landscaping and furniture restoration and preservation. Always ready and able to lend a hand and support whatever needs to be done to continue the restoration of this special property. He offers his daily love, support and faith to his crazy wife as they embark on this SereniTea journey together.
They feel their experiences have prepared them for a successful venture to maintain and restore this historic Adirondack dwelling, while bringing new beginnings for what she will become for future generations to enjoy.
Living on site in the home allows them to keep in close contact with every aspect of the business, guests, and this unique property. They hope you enjoy your stay here and your SereniTea experience as much as they have enjoyed creating it for you.